Skinfood Royal Honey Propolis Essence–Review

Skinfood Royal Honey Propolis Essence–Review

Propolis is an interesting little skin care ingredient. It’s actually a resin found in trees that honey bees use as a type of “glue” to help form their honey combs. It’s been used in skin care for it’s antibacterial and healing properties, making it useful for those with acne and redness.

That’s exactly why I was so excited to try out the Skinfood Royal Honey Propolis Essence!

skinfood honey propolis essence

Besides the propolis in this product, there’s also royal jelly (bee larvae “food”) and honey which are just as beneficial for the skin. In fact, 50% of this essence is propolis, 20% is royal jelly extract, and 10% is honey. That’s not the highest percentage for an essence, but it still makes up 80% of the entire product which is pretty impressive. Besides those, the ingredients list is made up of hydrators, emulsifiers, and some preservatives.

This is an essence so it’s used after cleansing/toning and before moisturizing. For a refresher on the Korean skin care steps, check out HERE. I, as per usual, tested this during my night time routine. This sample looks like a small amount (and it is), but you really only need a few drops to cover your entire face and neck. It glides on super smooth and absorbs pretty well.

Whenever I come across honey based products, I always hope that they smell like honey. Unfortunately, this one doesn’t really have a smell. That’s good or bad news depending on your scent sensitivity.

I got a good week out of this little guy, but didn’t see huge results overall. My skin did feel more hydrated and smooth, but not much changed. I’ll give it the benefit of the doubt and say that this may be a product that requires longer term use to see more dramatic results.

On the plus side, the full size bottle of this essence is absolutely gorgeous.

skinfood propolis essence

Seriously. Also, when you twist the top off, it fills the dropper with product so you just press a discrete button on top to dispense. How snazzy!

I give the Skinfood Royal Honey Propolis Essence 3.5 pomegranates. I was nice, smooth, and hydrating, but I didn’t see dramatic results while using.

pp3.5

You can buy your own Cleopatrata-esque bottle on Amazon here.

yazzisig

Let’s get social!

Twitter

Facebook

Bloglovin’

7 thoughts on “Skinfood Royal Honey Propolis Essence–Review

  1. I’m totally aware of those two key ingredients such as Royal honey and propolis as I am using a shampoo that has the same contents like this product and I should say, it gives so much silkiness and smoothness to my hair. Great Review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In my experience, I’ve had better results from honey and honey products in masks (specifically sheet masks). I feel like having a high concentration boost works better than a regular cream or anything, but maybe I just haven’t found the right product? 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave A Comment (I love 'em!)

