Beauty When You’re Under the Weather

Beauty When You’re Under the Weather

If you’ve been following me on social media, you probably know that I have been sick recently. There’s nothing worse than an illness, especially during the holidays, to bring you down. When you’re sick, the last thing on your mind is your beauty routine–it should be on resting and getting better. But your appearance can be an indicator of the health of your body and, once you’re well again, you want the health of your skin to be close to normal.

Below are some of the things I do (and did recently) to help myself and my skin until I could kick that sinus infection’s rear. Disclaimer: This is not medical advice and should not be taken as such. Please consult with your doctor and use your own judgment for medical needs.

  • When I’m sick, particularly if it has anything to do with my sinuses, which it usually does, I just don’t feel like washing my face. This is pretty much the number one no-no for general skin care routines, but I just can’t do it. Instead, I will take a warm washcloth and gently wash my face. Then I’ll use a toner (Murad’s Hydrating Toner is my fav because it smells amazing and has a spray top), and follow with a small amount of moisturizer. Be sure that your hands are clean so you don’t contaminate your products!

20150609_143018~2.jpg

  • Whenever I’m feeling up to it, I’ll toss a sheet mask on my face. Sheet masks are fantastic ways to add hydration to your skin and bring a nice, healthy glow back. There’s no bad sheet mask for this, but this last bout of sickness, I opted for the brand Etude House. I rotated between Hyaluronic Acid, Tea Tree, and really whatever else I could find. Some days I was so exhausted, I just curled up with a sheet mask on and took myself a nice, long nap.

20150814_150020~2

  • This doesn’t have to do with your face, but I find that this product helps me to refresh, decongest, and detox. I use Dr. Teals’ Detox Epsom Salt. It’s formulated with Ginger and Bentonite Clay to help detox your body. Plus, the hot water helps to decongest your sinuses. I’ll do some light stretches and a sinus massage while I’m in the water, too, to help release toxins. Just be sure to completely dry off (I usually just tie my hair up) and keep warm afterwards to keep yourself from getting worse.

2291152

  • The last thing I do to try and keep up with my beauty routine during illness is to stay hydrated! Everyone should know this by now, but staying hydrated is super important to helping your body fight off whatever has you under the weather. When  I’m really sick, water tastes absolutely disgusting to me, so I usually have to go with some kind of juice. Of course, water is best, but drink whatever you need to to stay hydrated. My favorite this last go round was 100% apple juice not from concentrate.

SVHF6MUWVZ.jpg

There are some of my go-to’s for keeping up with some semblance of my beauty routine while I’m sick. I hope you found a few useful items in this list!

What do you do to keep your skin healthy while you’re sick?

yazzisig

Let’s get social!

Twitter

Facebook

Bloglovin’

2 thoughts on “Beauty When You’re Under the Weather

  1. I love Dr. Teal’s soaks! They seem to work wonders. I hope yours has helped you hurry and feel better. I loathe being sick, and hate seeing when others feel badly, too.

    By the way – it’s silly, but it’s good to learn someone else can’t stand the taste of water when they’re sick, either. 🙂

    Like

Leave A Comment (I love 'em!)

