Benton Snail Bee High Content Essence–Review

Benton Snail Bee High Content Essence–Review

Let’s get real for a minute.

I’m a beauty blogger and I suffer from hormonal cystic acne. It’s embarrassing. It’s depressing. It’s painful.

I had never known the pain of cystic acne until this year when I was forced to change my birth control method. It may be TMI for some of you, but for others, it may be a comfort to know that you’re not alone.

It felt like I had tried everything under the sun to get this under control (except what required the expensive guidance of a medical professional). I exfoliated, I moisturized, I cleansed religiously, I never touched my face, I guzzled water, I tried to eat clean, I tried to de-stress. It felt like everything and nothing was a trigger for it. Hormones answer to no one.

Over the summer, I read reviews online (from even the most reputable k-beauty bloggers) that this inexpensive essence was a miracle product. It was on my wishlist for quite some time, but before clicking “order” I always backed out, afraid of wasting time, money, and hope on a full sized product that I had no idea would even work for me.

I eventually bit the bullet and bought it: Benton’s Snail Bee High Content Essence. If you follow my blog, or are otherwise informed of Asian beauty products, you’ll know two things. One: The product names are long and suck to type over and over. Two: Snail and bee venom are not “weird” ingredients by a long shot.

benton snail be high content essence

This claims to help with acne, aging, brightening, and moisturizing. It is an essence, so it would be used after cleansing and toning in your regimen. Let me tell you that it is packed with great ingredients!

At the very tippity-top is snail secretion filtrate (SSF) which helps with so many skin ailments from acne to aging. Next is aloe, glycerin, and arbutin–moisturizing and brightening ingredients. Now, bee venom… it sounds terrifying, but it’s honestly, honestly not. Bee venom is an astringent which is great for those with oily skin and acne (like your’s truly). But the beneficial train doesn’t stop there. There’s BHAs in the form of ingredients like willowbark. There’s also adenosine (another anti-aging ingredient) and a host of other moisturizing, anti-aging, anti-acne ingredients. Seriously, this little guy is full of goodness.

But how did it perform?

I started testing this in my nightly regimen, as I do nearly all products. I didn’t notice much of a difference at first, but it absorbs very well into my skin, enough so that I started using it in the morning, too. This. Is. Huge. I hardly ever (seriously… ever) use any type of treatment/essence/serum/ampoule in my morning routine because I’m very particular about how my skin feels during the day and how my makeup applies/sits on my skin. This essence completely absorbs and doesn’t affect any of the mattifying measures that I take to prevent from becoming an oil slick during the day. As far as I’m concerned, there’s a thousand points right there.

It has no scent so there’s no trouble with that and the consistency is like a runny gel. It applies very smoothly and, as mentioned, it absorbs extremely well.

benton snail bee close up

After about a week of using it, I still didn’t notice much of a difference in my skin. Many products take a two week or more use period before showing noticeable results so I continued using it twice a day every day. After the second week, it hit me.

My results were that nothing was happening.

Nothing was happening.

I hadn’t had one cystic pimple since I started. My results snuck up on me in the form of just returning to normal skin and I’m 100% positive that this essence is what has helped my cystic acne. I haven’t really seen brightening effects like I would hope for. My PIH (hyper-pigmentation that shows up in the aftermath of a breakout) is still noticeable and it hasn’t stopped my “normal” acne, but it does reduce the inflammation and redness by quite a bit.

I give Benton’s Snail Bee High Content Essence 5 pomegranates. I was going to take off half a point for the lack of brightening and whitening, but you know what? I’m so pleased with the results concerning my cystic acne that I don’t even care. It’ll just give me an excuse to buy my Panda. 😉

pp5

The best part? You can easily find Benton’s Snail Bee High Content Essence for less than $20. You can get it on Amazon here or on Sokoglam here.

Would you try (or have you already) a snail or bee product?

Don’t forget about my collaboration #HolidayHaute giveaway that ends December 22nd! Check it out HERE!

yazzisig

Let’s get social!

Twitter

Facebook

Bloglovin’

8 thoughts on “Benton Snail Bee High Content Essence–Review

  1. Wow! I’m so glad to hear that this helped you! I have hormonal acne sometimes and I was on birth control, a certain type that helped along with being on Spiranolactone that suppresses the hormone. Though I have noticed with the change of climate and there being more humidity where I live now I have been having more breakouts. I just might have to give this one a try! I don’t care if it has snail or bee venom lol. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Crazy this helped your cystic acne! Wow. I’m using the Mizon snail gel cream and I’m indifferent to it – I don’t suffer from acne but I did use it when I had a break out from trying another new product. It did seem to help. I’m curious about this Benton essence now! Thanks for this review.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I totally love this stuff! I had NO idea if it would even do anything, but decided to give it a go and I still use it everyday. I can’t believe it’s helped my cystic acne (I had all but given up hope). It does help the other acne some by helping reduce inflammation and they seem to heal faster, but really (for me) this product is all for my cystic acne. Love it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave A Comment (I love 'em!)

