ELF Mineral Eyeshadow Primer–Review

ELF Mineral Eyeshadow Primer–Review

I’ve always had an up and down relationship with eyeshadow primers. They either work or they don’t and unfortunately, up to this point, only higher end primers worked for my oily eye lids. So, when I saw this ELF Mineral Eyeshadow Primer, I thought I’d give it a go in a desperate act to find a primer that didn’t make my wallet cry.

elf mineral eye primer

This primer comes in Sheer and Blush. I opted for Sheer since I didn’t want to add additional color to my lids. This Mineral Primer is a step up from their original, basic primer. Online, it has good reviews. ELF even states that it is paraben, preservative, and chemical dye free.

It has a beige color to it before blending, but once on the lid, it smoothed out to a nice, even finish. There’s virtually no scent to it. It is very creamy and absorbs nicely.

elf mineral eye primer close up

Unfortunately, for me, that’s where the pleasantries end. I didn’t have the same experience as so many other reviewers online. It didn’t help my makeup stay on at all. In fact, there have been days where my eye makeup was smudging due to oiliness and I honestly couldn’t remember if I had applied primer or not (hint: it didn’t really matter).

The only upside to this primer is that is helps even out the skin tone on and around my eyes prior to applying makeup. But, then, couldn’t I just use a better primer for that, too? I’ll keep using this until it’s gone solely for the evening of skin tone, but I won’t be rebuying. Thankfully, it was only about $3. Still, it was worth a try. Urban Decay, I may have to return to you… eventually…

Hey! You never know. This primer could work out well for you! If you’re interested in trying it out, you can find it on ELF’s website here or on Amazon here.

What’s your favorite eye primer?

yazzisig

Let’s get social!

Twitter

Facebook

Bloglovin’

15 thoughts on “ELF Mineral Eyeshadow Primer–Review

  1. The UD Primer Potion is the only one I have found that actually works on me- and I have tried so many! Even though it is $24..or $22? Haha can’t remeber- It lasts FOREVER. So I feel like it’s definitely worth the money considering it lasts so long and you need so little.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave A Comment (I love 'em!)

