The Face Shop Charcoal Konjac Sponge–Review

The Face Shop Charcoal Konjac Sponge–Review

Konjac sponges have had my attention for awhile now. They look like pumice stones, feel like sponges, and exfoliate like a dream. But with so many kinds, brands, and places to buy, I was intimidated. I mean, I didn’t even know if I’d like it!

So today, I’ll be reviewing this little sponge from The Face Shop. It’s the Charcoal & Konjac Cleansing Puff.

face shop konjac1

Konjac cleansing sponges have been around for awhile, but recently have gotten a lot of attention outside of Asia. Konjac sponges originated in Japan and are made out of konjac root (also known a konnayaku or devil’s tongue). Konjac is a root that has been used for food medicine, and beauty for ages. Cool, right?

Konjac sponges claim to give you radiant skin and help with acne, blackheads, and other skin issues. Although my sponge is from The Face Shop (a Korean brand), TFS isn’t the only company to produce them. In fact, there are dozens and dozens of these little guys sold all over. Even Western brands like Eco Tools sell konjac sponges now.

These things are unique because, when dry, they shrink and are hard like a pumice stone. When wet, they are super soft and feel a little slick like it has “jelly” in it. This is supposed to allow you to use it with or without your foaming cleanser. Convenience! It also provides mild physical exfoliation. Another great quality is that these are recommended for those with or without sensitive skin because it’s a natural product without cleansers or anything added. I bought the kind that has charcoal in it since I have oily, acne prone skin, but there’s a white kind (pure; best for sensitive skin), clay, green tea… anything under the sun (almost)!

It also has a handy little string so you can hang it to dry.

face shop konjac220150918_155809

I actually really love this little sponge, but I was skeptical before buying it. I didn’t really see how you could cleanse your face with only this and no actual cleanser on the sponge. But it’s so soft and smooth that it glides right over your skin! I’ve tried it both with a foam cleanser and a la carte, but I actually like it better on its own. I typically use this in the morning after I cleanse for a light exfoliation.

I used for a few weeks to see if it made a difference and, while it hasn’t made my acne vanish completely, I have noticed less spots. And that’s during “that time of the month” when my skin just hates me. I do feel like my skin is a little “glowier”, but not by a ton.

Here’s a few tips: Don’t hang this in the shower! I know some people do and then they hate their sponge because it never dries out completely and molds. I actually keep this in our separate bathroom where no one showers so it can dry completely.

Be gentle on it for it to last longer. Squeeze it dry by pressing it between your palms. I’ll also press it between a dry towel just to get rid of any excessive moisture then hang it up.

Make sure the sponge is sufficiently damp (not dripping) if you’re using without cleanser. Otherwise it will drag your face.

 Sponges, from what I’ve read, can last anywhere from a month or two depending on how much you use it, where you store it, etc. The shape and color will start to go and that’s when you know to toss it!

I love my Charcoal Konjac Cleansing Sponge from The Face Shop. There may be more “luxurious” sponges out there, but I feel like this is a great option without breaking the bank. I give this sponge 4 pomegranates. The only thing that I don’t like is that it doesn’t seem to harden very quickly (maybe a day?) which leaves me keeping a close eye and nose out for bacteria. Also it makes my morning routine a smidge longer because I don’t use it with my cleanser but that’s a personal problem. 😉

pp4

If you’d like to try The Face Shop’s Charcoal & Konjac Cleansing Sponge, you can see f2plus1’s Ebay listing here (where I bought mine). You can also try the original, white version on Ebay here or on Amazon here.

Have you tried a konjac sponge before? Have any extra tips or tricks for us? Comment below!

yazzisig

Let’s get social!

Twitter

Facebook

Bloglovin’

6 thoughts on “The Face Shop Charcoal Konjac Sponge–Review

Leave A Comment (I love 'em!)

