Before, During, After–Suncare, Skincare

Before, During, After–Suncare, Skincare

Hello everyone!

Since summer is getting into full swing, here in the US, I wanted to tell you guys a little about products that I use for skincare in relation to the sun because I know you’re all hanging by the pool or going to the beach (lucky!) and sun protection/prevention is so important!

Now, I’m not going to tell you about the details of why you should protect your skin from the sun’s rays… that’s everywhere.Pictured below are some products that I use for before, the unfortunate during, and the sad after of summer sunΒ care.

20150609_150701

First is a sunblock (prevention is key!). I have been using Coppertone Clearly Sheer sunblock for faces. It has broad spectrum protection (which means it protects from cancer causing UVA rays and skin burning UVB rays) and an spf of 50. I love it because it has a light, pleasant scent and is designed for the face so it isn’t greasy and doesn’t show up white on your skin. Of course, this is just for faces, so be sure to get a broad spectrum sunscreen for your body too!

Inevitably, something will happen (you’ll forget sunscreen, not reapply often enough, etc) and may end up with a burn. Of course, drink a lot of water, but I also swear by Solarcaine Cool Aloe spray. It’s alcohol free so there’s no burning and it has Lidocaine which is a topical pain reliever. Bonus, it has aloe which will help to soothe and moisturize your skin while it heals. This is a huge plus for me because the absolute last thing I want to do when I get a sunburn is to rub something on myself. So this spray is a lifesaver!

Now, your sunburn has healed, but you have lingering sun damage (whether seen with the naked eye or not). That’s where this Murad treatment comes in! It’s the Rapid Age Spot and Pigment Lightening Gel and it’s from the Murad Environmental Shield line (which was previously known as the Vitamin C line). It helps with sun damage and lightens and brightens those pesky dark spots. *This treatment causes sensitivity to the sun while applied, so when you use it, either use lots of sunscreen or stay indoors/use at night.

There you have it. These are my go-to’s for sun protection and damage control (pun intended).

If you’d like to try these products for yourself you can find them:

Coppertone Clearly Sheer sunscreen: here

Solarcaine Cooling Aloe: here

Murad Rapid Age Spot and Pigment Lightening Gel: here

Your Turn:

What products do you use to keep yourself protected form the sun and what do you do when you have to do your own “damage control”?

Thank you so much for reading and be sure to check out my Facebook and Twitter pages. I follow back, ya know!

20 thoughts on “Before, During, After–Suncare, Skincare

  1. Ugh, sunburn is THE worst! I had one of those UV scans a couple of years ago that assesses the damage your skin has from the sun and I was shocked! Since then I always try to wear a hat in the sun and cover my face in sunscreen.
    If I do happen to get burnt I love anything with loads of aloe vera in it πŸ™‚ xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know!! It happens to the best of us, I guess. I had an opportunity to do that UV scan as well, but I just couldn’t do it. I knew it would be bad! And aloe vera is exactly why I love this Solarcaine spray! You get the aloe goodness, but no touching. haha!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I wish I read this sooner, summer just ended here and the rainy seasons coming. I couldn’t get my hands on a good sunblock but I do use foundations and BB creams with enough spf in it. Also a trusty umbrella and hat goes a long way. Detachable sleeves too. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave A Comment (I love 'em!)

